Aurelius Comes to Town

So with all the emotional crap that has hit the fan lately I forgot to blog about the visitor/couch warmer I had last week! Sorry babe!

So last Thursady Aurelius flew into Sydney in the hope he could crash on my lounge until his bus left Friday morning to convey him to his son for a school holiday visit. So Bugalugs and I drove down and collected him. Upon delivering instructions as to how to get to where we were parked (it was too late at night to be taking Bugalugs out in the cold, and its just so much easier to meet like that. No chance of walking past each other, or finding a good place to wait.) I explained I had parked on level 4, outside the lifts. He asked the make and model of the car, and I told him. He got to the lifts, and wondered how he would find me. He stepped out, and it hit him in the face. Knowing me as he does, the vanity plates SCREEMED “here we are Aurelius!!!” He should have known better. lol.

So we had a good chat on the way home, and whilst we stopped for him to have some dinner, poor thing had to settle for takeaway whilst bugalugs slept in the car. Back at home, we spent the remainder of the evening chatting and giggling. The conversation was easy as always. Silences were comfortable. Although it was bizzare to hear his particular catchphrases from someone on the couch next to me, instead of on the phone. Bizzare to hear his familiar tones and inflections eminating from another room whilst I made coffee. It was good though. And nowhere near as bizzare as the ad we watched on the ABC whilst chatting away. As much of a crack up as Spiky Ninjas was the other week on the phone, it was something else again to watch Mr John Howard, the trakkie-wearing-I-Suck-severely-at-cricket prime minister of ours, wishing Play School a happy 40th aniversary whilst balancing Big Ted on his lap. WHAT. THE. FUCK????

Let me assure you, it did NOTHING to improve my opinion of the man. Although it may explain a few things…… At least now we know how he comforts himself when George Dubbya is too busy to answer his calls.

I did glean from Aurelius a fantastic habit of his version of Dickhead as related to me. At times his female dickhead does things i want to shoot her for, just as dickhead makes Aurs shake his head in wonderment, however every now and then she does something of such unbridled wonderment that I just want to hug her, squeeze her and name her “squishy” and love her forever (possible not quite the same way as HE wants to, but I digress)

LadyDH, apparently, has a BRILLIANT way of signalling her displeasure which upon hearing I promptly stole. It seems that whilst in a txty conversation, she sends blank sms’ to signal the fact that Aurelius is now suffering the ‘silent treatment’. Sheer brilliance! And I thought you couldnt get any more irritating than simply not responding! She puts me to shame. This tactic can be employed during email tag too. No wonder Aurelius likes her! Shes pure gold!

So thankyou for the visit Aurelius, it was nice, albeit very short. My couch is all the better for having you.

Explore posts in the same categories: All that other stuff

4 Comments on “Aurelius Comes to Town”

  1. steph Says:

    He seems like a cool guy. I’m glad you had a great night.

  2. steph Says:

    Where in the bollocks did my comment go??
    That’s twice on this blog!
    Hmmph, can’t recall what i said but i’m sure it was fucking brilliant!

  3. Scorpy Says:

    Glad some sunshine came back into your life…I like the texting thingy too LOL

  4. Aurelius Says:

    *smile*
    Hope you’re okay Huns.

  5. huniii Says:

    Steph
    I hears ya on the comment thing. for hours i could see your first one but not your second. A couple of days ago wordpress caught Imeldas comment as Spam. What. The. Fuck.
    Sigh.

    Scorpy
    Thanks babe. The sun pops out occassionally. Dickhead brings it out every now and then but its bloody sun showers. Most the time its thunder & lightening but Im a child of Africa. Rain is good.

    Aurs
    Im not. But I will be. Thanks Babe


Leave a Reply

